Indian tour in South Africa: BCCI takes CSA guarantee that if the covid situation worsens, Indian players will be sent back to India

There has been an increasing number of cases of the Covid-19 virus which is a series between India and South Africa. BCCI Insisted Cricket South Africa (CSA) that the Indian team be sent back to the country if the covid situation deteriorates.

CSA chief medical officer Dr Shuaib Manjra said the South African government has agreed to the Indian team being sent back to India if there is a problem with Covid-19.

Manjra in his statement said

“If there is to be a repatriation and the borders are closed, the government has given a guarantee that it will allow the players and the team to return to India. I think we have taken all possible measures to ensure that the Indian team is not only safe here, but if they have to leave for any reason the way is open for them to leave anytime they wish.

South Africa is going through the fourth wave of Covid-19 and there is also the Omicron variant, which raises many eyebrows. BCCI is now relieved as CSA approved decision to let Indian players return to their country if covid-19 rises

The players and the staff of the hotel are in the bio-bubble

  • No outside guest will be allowed in the hotel
  • The personnel involved are in quarantine at the hotel
  • Regular tests are carried out for staff
  • Everything that arrives at the property is carefully checked to ensure that all health and safety requirements are met
  • The hotel has been demarcated into different sectors to ensure that there is no contamination.
  • Covid-19 compliance officers are appointed at the hotel.

The Indian cricket team will also be provided with hospital beds in the event of an emergency.

Indian team for the Tour of South Africa:

Virat Kohli (captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (week), Wriddhiman Saha (week), R Ashwin, Jayant Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed. Shami, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj, Priyank Panchal.

Waiting players: Navdeep Saini, Saurabh Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Arzan Nagwaswalla.

Read more: Barcelona look to replace Coutinho with Dani Olmo in January

– Advertising –

About Leah Albert

Check Also

Rupee trade settlement: Banks seek clarification on repatriation of funds

Illustration: Binay Sinha Business Standard has always endeavored to provide up-to-date information and commentary on …