Countries where travelers from France must have Covid insurance

Since Covid first emerged in 2020, a growing list of countries have opted to impose compulsory insurance on international travelers, to ensure they are covered for possible medical and quarantine costs. .

Before the coronavirus crisis, only six countries – China, Russia, Cuba, Algeria, Mongolia and Saudi Arabia – required international arrivals to prove they had travel insurance with health cover for foreigners. short stays, but this number now exceeds 30.

For travel to these countries, authorities will ensure that a traveler has an insurance policy involving Covid cover, guaranteeing potential medical treatment related to the virus, hotel quarantine in the event of a positive test result and also a repatriation.

Insurance documents will normally be checked when boarding the aircraft, although sometimes they will need to be presented on arrival.

Many older people find it difficult to access this type of insurance, as contracts are often only offered to those under 65, 72 or 75 years old.

Some countries also require health coverage to guarantee care up to a certain amount. For example, Malaysia states that medical expenses must be covered up to $20,000.

In France, insurance companies like Assur-Travel, Chapka and AVA offer policies that include provisions for Covid, but you must ask them to provide you with proof of this additional cover.

Other insurers may not have a specific Covid clause, but will include the example of a positive test result in the reasons why someone may have to extend their stay or not be able to return home.

This means that travelers can often be covered for additional accommodation costs, the cost of the return flight, and telephone charges.

If you have travel insurance through your bank card, you may also have access to additional Covid cover, but it’s worth checking with your bank.

Countries requiring or requesting travel insurance that includes Covid coverage are:


  • Algeria

  • Benign

  • Green cap

  • Djibouti

  • Kenya

  • mozambique

  • Namibia (optional)

  • Seychelles

  • Go

  • Mauritius (optional)

North and South America

  • Aruba

  • Argentina

  • Bahamian

  • Belize

  • Bolivia

  • Chile

  • Costa Rica (optional)

  • Cuba (requires health coverage but Covid provision is optional)

  • Ecuador

  • Guatemala

  • El Salvador

  • Paraguay

  • Saint-Martin (Dutch part)

  • Turks and Caicos Islands


In theory, Russia and Ukraine also require this type of insurance, but the French are unlikely to travel to either country as long as the war continues.

This information is correct at the time of writing, but is subject to change as the situation evolves.

Related Articles

Covid-19: Rules for traveling to and from France

New train line, Dover ferries, busy roads: travel updates from Nine France

90-day stay: is the 180-day period sliding or fixed at entry?

About Leah Albert

Check Also

The number of migrants poses a growing challenge

Cuban migrants rescued by the Caribe Legend and arrived in Cayman on Sunday, November 13, …